The pages of the comics Atacama and An Alien Arrives are A3 size. It was a strange decision. It means that the printed comics are as wide as newspapers when they are open. I originally intended to shrink them down to A4 size, but when I printed off the first Issue in A3 I found that I could wrap the comic around my head, literally becoming lost in the pages. A3 had to stay.

Two landscape A3 pages side by side provide an awesomely huge space. About half way through the first issue (An Alien Arrives) I realised I should be thinking of each double page spread as a single composition. This lead me to experiment with the cover sleeves. Instead of a separate front and back cover I thought “why not a single long image that wraps the entire comic?” Here are the results.

Every future issue will have its sleeve in this layout.

 


 

